“Flaky Layers” Biscuits

DSC_0004Happy New Year! I’m back! The past 2-3 weeks have been absolutely chaotic. For a little while I was under the weather, then Pete and I got engaged (!), then it was my 24th birthday, then we went home for Christmas, and since we got home we’ve just been trying to put the house back together and find homes for all the new wonderful foodie gifts.

But now, I’m ready to finally finish my series of nostalgic kids’ treats remade. Here is a list of all of them:

  1. Berry Nutrigrain Bars
  2. Real Fig Newtons
  3. Homemade Cheezits
  4. Vegan Mini Baked Corndogs
  5. Better than Hostess Cupcakes
  6. Cinnamon Toast Cereal
  7. Peanut Butter Cups
  8. Vanilla bean Pudding
  9. Candy Cane Oreos
  10. and today’s flaky layers biscuits

Someone please remind me to never do a ten post series again… sheesh.

Some of you may be wondering why flaky layers biscuits are on my list of childhood treats. Well, it’s definitely a personal memory, but remember these?:Pillsbury Biscuits

My friends and I used to make these at sleepovers, morning or night, didn’t matter. I have no idea how they make the layers pull apart the way they do, and I really don’t want to know, but they were soooo delicious. Childhood girlfriends, I hope you remember these with the same love that I do. I tried my best to replicate them, but I don’t have the same giant factory equipment as Pillsbury does… so I can’t guarantee an exact duplicate. I can guarantee a delicious, super flaky biscuit though.

“Flaky Layers” Biscuits

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 5 Tbsp cold butter, cut into cubes
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 3 Tbsp honey, agave or sugar

(vegan friends! You can make these too! Sub earth balance for the butter, and non-dairy milk + vinegar for the buttermilk.)

I don’t have a ton of step by step pictures this week, my camera battery died… whoops. But I did make a wonderful recipe sketch for you all – please do not ridicule me for my dorky diagram comparing a biscuit to the layers of the earth… ok thanks.

Flaky Layers Biscuits

 

Ok so like the recipe sketch says… preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt, then toss in the butter cubes and smash them up with your hands or a pastry cutter until a coarse meal forms.

Then add the buttermilk and honey, and mix everything up until it’s just combined. Move the dough over to a floured surface and fold it over on itself a couple times. Pat it out to about 3/4″ thickness and then cut out the shapes you want. I opt for squares because a) it’s easy and b) you don’t waste any dough like you would cutting out circles.

Place the little dough shapes on a lined baking sheet and bake 11-12 minutes until golden brown. Then serve them up however you like. We had them with jam:

DSC_0009

 

And I made up this italian biscuits and gravy breakfast thing. Biscuit, over easy egg, vegan italian sausage, tomato sauce and a green salad on the side, it was delicious:

DSC_0007Just be prepared for nap time after you eat all those flaky layers…

DSC_0005

 

Yummmmmm…..DSC_0014

 

 

3 thoughts on ““Flaky Layers” Biscuits

  1. Whoa!!! I have been on the hunt for an excellent biscuit and I have tried quite a few recipes, these are by far the best! Tried them tonight and they are super yummy!

Leave a Reply

