Orange Spice Rye Shortbread with Cranberries

In between numbers 9 and 10 of my remixed childhood treats I have a mandatory blog post. It is for The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap!

fbcookieswap2013_badgewhite

Over the past few weeks I’ve been receiving lovely packages in the mail full of cookies. It has been so wonderful to come home to! I got some very classic ginger snaps, some double chocolate pomegranate cookies and some crowd pleasing monster cookies.

I got to send my cookies (from the recipe I am about to show you) to California, Georgia and Pennsylvania, so cool! It was difficult to decide what to make. I needed something that would hold together while being thrown around at the post office and that would still taste good after 3 days or so.

I finally settled on a rye shortbread recipe that I love from Kitchen Vignettes – one of my absolute favorite blogs. But instead of using dried blueberries like the original recipe, I used dried cranberries and added some orange zest and warm spices to make them festive and seasonal.

Just a side note: if you are a food blogger I definitely encourage you to sign up for The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap next year. I love the blog-o-sphere, but it was so wonderful and different to interact with other bloggers via snail mail. It felt extra special.

Ok, on to the cookies! There is a recipe sketch for this post as well, I totally understand if you want to just scroll down and follow that instead… I promise I won’t be mad.

DSC_0020

Orange Spice Rye Shortbread with Cranberries

Makes about 48 cookies

  • 1 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • zest of 1 orange (about a tsp)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups rye flour
  • 1/2 tsp each cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and cloves
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup turbinado sugar, for rolling (optional, but nice)

Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy.

Add the orange zest, egg and salt and combine.

Then add the flour, spices and cranberries. Mix until a stiff dough forms.

Roll into two logs, about 2″ in diameter, wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and either roll the logs in turbinado or don’t. But this is why you should:

DSC_0027

The edges get so pretty and sparkly!

Then slice into 1/8-1/4″ rounds and bake for about 15 minutes, until golden around the edges.

Allow to cool completely. Then pack them up and ship them off!

DSC_0016Here is the sketch for this recipe:

Orange Spice Rye

And the kitties have something to say as well…

DSC_0051

5 thoughts on “Orange Spice Rye Shortbread with Cranberries

  1. I would recommend that anyone that reads this post make these cookies! They are so delicious and flavorful, and the rye flour gives the cookies such a nice depth. Thank you, Taylor, they were such a treat!

  2. Pingback: CFBCS13: Received Cookies | thepantrykey

Leave a Reply

