Homemade Candy Cane Oreos

DSC_0086

If you know me well, you know that 1. I hate trader joe’s because of their pre-packaged produce and 2. I love trader joe’s because of their Candy Cane Jojos that come out each year around Thanksgiving. For the past 3 or 4 years now I’ve stocked up on these peppermint sandwich cookies. And I mean STOCKED UP. Like they typically lasted me until April or May.

But this year I said goodbye to Trader Joe and made my own, and they are so much better. Soft on the inside, crisp on the outside… stuffed with glorious frosting with little bits of candy cane crunch. They are absolutely perfect for holiday cookie swaps, office christmas parties and host gifts. And the best part is they are wonderfully festive without being too froufrou or requiring a bucket of royal icing and disco dust.

I don’t want to get too crazy, but these might be the best thing I’ve made in a while. I’m really not exaggerating, they are so good and so easy. But I am a former candy cane jojo/oreo addict… so I may just be overly excited.

Homemade Candy Cane Oreos

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Makes 20-24 sandwich cookies

For the Cookies

  • 1 1/4 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp (1 1/4 sticks) butter, room temperature (very important!)
  • 1 egg

For the Filling

  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup crushed peppermint candy, or those pre-crushed peppermint bits I’m seeing everywhere this year. Although I find those to be completely unnecessary… Crushing candy can be a huge stress reliever.
  • Milk, for if your filling’s consistency needs changing.

First for the cookies, combine the dry ingredients in the bowl of your stand mixer and mix them up a little bit, get most of the lumps out and make sure everything is combined-ish.

DSC_0031

Then toss in the butter and the egg.

DSC_0034And mix until a stiff dough forms. This will take a few minutes, so don’t panic if it just looks like sand for a while, it will come together! Don’t worry!

DSC_0054At this point you can refrigerate the dough for future use, or scoop it right away. If you’re scooping, preheat your oven to 375 degrees and find a tiiiiiiiny scoop. My scoop was about 1 teaspoon.

DSC_0056Bake for 9-10 minutes, rotating half way through baking.

DSC_0067And while the little guys cool, make some frosting! Combine the butter and half the powdered sugar and beat until it’s smooth. Then add the rest of the powdered sugar a little bit at a time, unless you want it to all explode out of the bowl and create the winter-wonderland-in-my-kitchen effect. Then add the peppermint candy, and a teaspoon or two of milk if you need to thin it out.

DSC_0072Then fill ’em up! I used the same teaspoon scoop that I used for the dough for the filling, it was the perfect amount.

DSC_0097

This week I did something new! A recipe sketch. I’ve been playing around with them a little, and I wanted to make one to share for this recipe. Something that I really like about them is that you can just copy and save the whole image, print it out, and put it in your own recipe binder. It’s a lot more fun than printing out an ugly webpage. I hope you like it!

Scanned Image

If you don’t eat two of these cookies right away you are crazy. Although it’s a little harder to enjoy them with this little one making sad eyes at you and begging for one…

DSC_0043

5 thoughts on “Homemade Candy Cane Oreos

  1. What a coincidence! I just recieved some incredibly delicious rye shortbread cookies from you for the cookie swap, and then we both make candy cane oreos in the same week–it was meant to be! Happy holidays!

  2. Pingback: “Flaky Layers” Biscuits |

Leave a Reply

