Vegan Mini Baked Corn Dogs

DSC_0018I’m finally back at it! Life has taken a turn for the busiest and I’ve been spread pretty thin lately. But I’m back for post #4 of remixed nostalgic kid snacks: the mini corn dog.

My history with this treat may be a little different than most people’s – my corn dogs have been of the vegetarian variety since I was about 12 years-old. I actually don’t remember real corn dogs all that well, but those morning star vegetarian corn dogs… oh man, that green box was magical.

Now, fake meat products like that aren’t typically found in my freezer –  I suppose Field Roast Bratwursts are my one weakness.  But I went out and got some Smartdogs just for this post, I have to admit I missed them just a little bit. These “corn dogs” are baked, not fried. And while they aren’t the cutest thing I’ve made, they sure are delicious. Pete and I ate all of them in one sitting… oops. They really are the perfect comfort food.

If you want to make them a little less nugget-like, you could use a muffin tin. Put a piece of hot dog in the muffin tin and pour the corn bread batter over the top. If you do this version, you may have to double the amount of batter you make,  and you’ll definitely have to bake them longer.

I’ve also heard of people using a twinkie pan (yes, I guess they make those, and they call them cream canoes!) for corn dogs. I don’t have one of these, and will most likely never get one, but I’m sure they would make something that looks a little more like a traditional corn dog.

Last thing, the consistency of the batter is key in this recipe, and the amount of liquid you add will be affected by a variety of factors, mainly how absorbent your corn meal is. I use a locally grown and ground corn meal that is less absorbent than many store-bought brands; make sure to adjust accordingly. The batter should be similar to the consistency of store-bought apple sauce. Here we go!

Vegan Mini Baked Corn Dogs

  • 6 tofu dogs
  • 2/3 cup corn meal
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp mustard powder
  • pinch garlic powder
  • pinch onion powder
  • pinch black pepper
  • 1 tsp ground flax seed or other egg replacer
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 2/3 cup vegan milk of your choice

Cut up the dogs into three pieces and preheat your oven to 450 degrees.

DSC_0011

Combine the flour, baking powder, salt, paprika, mustard powder, garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, flax and sugar in a medium sized bowl and stir it up a bit to combine.

DSC_0002

Then add your wet ingredients, which, in this case, is just vegan milk. Stir just until combined, but do not over mix. At this point you’ll want to assess the consistency of your batter, add milk or flour depending on what you need to do, and test dip a hot dog to double check.

DSC_0007Dip each hot dog piece into the batter, and place them onto a lined baking sheet. Try to shake off as much excess batter as you can, it will only form a puddle under your corn dog if you don’t (a tasty puddle though).

DSC_0014

Bake for 10-15 minutes until golden brown and crispy. Allow to cool, then chow down with your favorite dip.

DSC_0022

I almost called these Corn Cats, instead of Corn Dogs. But Leroy talked me out of it.

DSC_0027

2 thoughts on “Vegan Mini Baked Corn Dogs

  1. I was beginning to wonder. Love the batter. Not sure ’bout the cat. Think I might be trying the cheezits this weekend. Thanks for that one especially.

  2. Pingback: “Flaky Layers” Biscuits |

Leave a Reply

