Carrot Zucchini Bread

DSC_0076

Zucchini season is here! And for the first time ever I’m actually growing it myself instead of buying pounds and pounds of it at the market. Since this is my first year ever gardening, I really had no idea what 6 zucchini plants could produce… it’s going to be a lot.

So the other day I went on pinterest (another new thing for me) and started a whole board of zucchini recipes, you can find it here. I looked and looked for a carrot zucchini bread recipe that I liked, but I couldn’t find the perfect one. I’ll admit, I’m extremely picky about quick breads. I hate when they come out of the oven all short and dense; a piece of banana bread that is 2 inches high? No thank you.

So I combined a few recipes, swapped a few things, added some stuff, and came up with this delicious loaf. If I had a super cute little bakery somewhere I’d name this loaf “The Garden Party.” It is seriously good stuff, and would get any kid to eat their vegetables. Maybe you could even get a kid to grate all your vegetables for you… now that would be a good deal.

Carrot Zucchini “Garden Party” Bread

  • 1 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups grated carrot (about two medium carrots)
  • 1 1/2 cups grated zucchini (about 1 medium zucchini)
  • 1 cup add-in of your choice – I used chocolate chips and toasted pecans. Dried fruit, other nuts or coconut would also be great. (optional)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a standard 9×5 loaf pan.

Then combine the flours, cinnamon, salt, baking soda and baking powder, set aside. Now combine the vegetable oil, apple sauce, eggs, carrots and zucchini, stir it up!

DSC_0048Combine the dry and wet ingredients and stir until incorporated completely. Mix in whatever add-ins you choose.

DSC_0051Pour into the greased loaf pan and bake for 1 hour to 1 hour and 20 minutes, until medium brown and cracked on top. Allow to cool in the pan for 10 minutes before removing and cooling on a wire rack.

DSC_0065Slice and enjoy morning, noon or night! Use up some of that zucc!

DSC_0069

Fotor072316021

Leave a Reply

