Classic Blueberry Pie

DSC_0090A simple blueberry pie really can’t be beat in the middle of summer – especially with a big scoop of ice cream… I’ve been really into lattice pie crusts lately, I don’t make the prettiest perfect tops, but I like to think they’ve got my own rustic flair. I first saw a tutorial for lattice blueberry pie from my favorite food network celebrity Alton Brown, then I found this awesome, no-frills video tutorial and gave it a whirl.

For those of you that don’t know, in college I was an art major, with an emphasis on materials, fiber and some ceramics.   Weaving dough like this is pretty much my dream project; tie together art/craft and baking and I’m happy.

In recent months I’ve really found my love for pie dough. I’ve always liked it, but because I make a pie-type thing for the market every week I’ve been able to get creative with it, and have a lot of fun. Did you see my mini 4th of july cherry-blueberry pies from the market last week?

1002829_212275912255554_682611507_nThey were so fun to make! You can do pretty much anything with some good pie dough, so make this simple recipe, roll it out and get creative!

Classic Blueberry Pie

crust:

  • 2 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, cold and cubed
  • approx. 1/2 cup cold water
  • 1 egg, for washing
  • coarse sugar, for sprinkling (optional)

filling:

  • 6-7 cups blueberries, fresh, frozen or a mix
  • 1 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (I prefer nutmeg with blueberries, but go ahead and use cinnamon if you like that better)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3 Tbsp corn starch
  • 2 Tbsp butter (optional, but delicious)

First make your crust. Put the flour, sugar, salt and butter into a large bowl.

DSC_0035Work in the butter with a pastry cutter or your hands until pea-sized pieces of butter remain.

DSC_0037Then add the cold water, just a little bit at a time until a ball forms, it can be shaggy and rough looking, don’t worry about it.

Cut the dough into two semi-equal pieces, wrap with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 40 minutes.

DSC_0044While the dough is chilling, make the filling. Put 3 cups of blueberries in a small pot with the cornstarch, nutmeg and sugar, then put the remaining berries in a large bowl.

DSC_0055

Simmer the blueberry-sugar  mixture until the berries have popped and the mixture has thickened, about 10 minutes.

DSC_0062Allow the blueberry mixture to cool completely (yes, you can pop it into the fridge for a while to speed up the process).

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Then stir the cooled mixture into the rest of the fresh blueberries. Take one disk of dough out of the fridge and roll it out into a circle that is about 1/4 inch thick, transfer it to your pie plate.

Trim any overhanging edges and fill with blueberries, dot the top with thin pats of butter.

DSC_0076

 

Now get out the second disk of dough and roll it out just like you did before. This time, cut long 1″ wide strips using a pizza cutter, you’ll need 8-10 strips. Watch the lattice pie video I posted earlier, or check out my little collage below to complete the lattice top. Then brush on some egg wash and sprinkle on coarse sugar.

Fotor07089256Bake 45-55 minutes, rotating once halfway through. I’d recommend baking the pie on a cookie sheet; blueberry boil over should be expected… and blueberry juice smells less delicious when burning in the bottom of your oven.

DSC_0100Dive in! It’s also extra fun to eat pie next to absurdly adorable kittens… with ice cream. No, the kittens don’t have ice cream, you get what I’m saying, just go eat some pie!

DSC_0018

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Classic Blueberry Pie

  1. Pingback: Black Bottom Oatmeal Pie |

Leave a Reply

