Vegan Coconut Mango Donuts

DSC_0042Donuts may be one of my new favorite things… baked donuts though, I’m still not a huge fan of the fried variety, unless they’re filled with jam, of course. Yesterday, I wanted to make donuts so badly that I biked to Ace Hardware just to buy a donut pan (they have everything). I got a norpro nonstick pan, and it is perfect… There will be many more donuts in my future.

You may have noticed, more of my recipes have been vegan lately, that’s because I’m practicing! At the end of June I’ll be baking at The Lunch Room, a vegan food-cart-gone-restaurant in Ann Arbor. It’s a wonderful business owned and run by amazing people, and I’m very excited to take on the challenge of all vegan baking. But don’t worry, I’ll get my dairy and egg fix at home and at the farmers market.

The market! It’s coming up so fast. My first night at the Kerrytown Farmers Market is June 5th, 4-8pm. If you’re in the Ann Arbor area, look out for some opening night promotions on the Oh Dear Bakery facebook page.

Now, I bet you dollars to donuts you’ll love this recipe.

Vegan Coconut Mango Donuts

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, room temperature
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup veggie oil
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tsp white vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup super small diced mango

Glaze:

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp coconut milk (more or less to get desired consistency)
  • 1 cup shredded coconut, toasted

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and shredded coconut in a bowl. Combine the coconut milk, vinegar and vanilla, then beat together the coconut oil, sugar and oil.

DSC_0020Add in the flour mixture and the coconut milk mixture, alternating and always ending with dry ingredients. Once combined, mix in the diced mango.

DSC_0023Put the batter into a large ziplock bag and push it down into one corner, snip off about a 1/2 inch of the corner and pipe the batter into your greased donut pan – you could also use a piping bag with a large tip.

DSC_0025Bake 14-15 minutes until golden brown and springy when you poke them.

DSC_0032Make your glaze: put the powdered sugar in a bowl and slowly add in coconut milk until you reach your desired consistency. I like to dip the back of a wooden spoon in the glaze and allow excess to drip off, that allows me to see how opaque the mixture is and add milk or sugar from there.

Remove donuts from the pan and let them cool at least partially (they cool quickly). Dip them in glaze, then in toasted coconut and leave them to dry.

DSC_0036Then eat lots and lots of donuts, they’re vegan and baked, so they’re good for you, right…? (They’re probably not, but at least they’re not as bad for you).

The prince of the porch would very much enjoy a vegan donut…

DSC_0030

5 thoughts on “Vegan Coconut Mango Donuts

  1. I love donuts! But I have to say, that “Prince of the Porch” is my favorite part of the entire recipe. Well, maybe not. But he’s the absolute cutest.

Leave a Reply

