Oreo-Stuffed Red Velvet Crinkles

I’m having a holiday hangover, it’s a combination of tired, overwhelmed and joyful. Pete and I spent a wonderful 10 days in Minnesota/Wisconsin with friends and family. We drove back and forth and the trips were long, but I think I preferred it to flying. We got back to Ann Arbor and wanted to crash, but the kittens had made some messes while we were gone. So we started cleaning, and the cleaning turned into organizing and the organizing turned into taking out all our new presents and finding homes for them…

I got some wonderful baking related presents this year for christmas and my birthday (which is very close to christmas). A rotating cake decorating stand with all the decorating tools I could ever need, new baking sheets, measuring cups and spoons and a beautiful immersion blender that I’ll use to make tomato basil soup tonight.

And then I decided to buy a present for myself to store all of these beautiful things, a baker’s dream:

DSC_0093

 

A five level shelving unit from Lowe’s. I don’t even care that it’s basically in our living room, it is so beautiful! We’ve already de-cluttered our kitchen and the space feels a whole lot better.

We wanted to purchase this beauty yesterday, but we got so busy it just didn’t happen. So busy that we stayed in on new years eve, shame on us. We had a lot of fun anyway; had a mexican themed dinner, drank champagne, watched “Bernie” (highly recommended), and made these cookies. I blame some of the poor photography on the champagne, and some of it on Pete.

In preparing to write about these crinkle cookies I researched Oreo cookies – although I used Trader Joe’s candy cane jojos. I think I did a research project on Oreos at some point as a child, because a lot of these facts seem very familiar, maybe my mom can verify that for me. There are SO many cool facts that I’m just going to list a few for you, if you participate in pub trivia like I do, these may even come in handy.

– Nabisco, the producer of the Oreo, is a nickname. The full name of Nabisco is the National Biscuit Company and they started making Oreos (then called Oreo Biscuits) in 1912.

– In the mid 1990’s the lard in Oreo filling was switched out for partially hydrogenated vegetable oil. Then in 2006 it was swapped out again for non-hydrogenated vegetable oil, thank goodness.

– There are three theories for where the name Oreo comes from: 1. The french word “Or” meaning gold – the early Oreo packages were gold. 2. The greek word “oreo” meaning nice, or well done. And 3. Taking the “re” from “cream” and putting it between the two “o”‘s in chocolate making “o-re-o.” I like the last one the best for sure.

– In Argentina you can buy a duo variety of Oreos with banana and dulce de leche fillings sold in the same pack.

– Oreos eaten in the US are produced in Richmond, VA and are baked in a 300 foot long oven. Holy Moly.

Like I said, I used jojos for my recipe this week, candy cane jojos to be exact. This year I bought 3 boxes of candy cane jojos, they normally sell out before christmas. They might last me until the end of February, maybe. You can use whatever sandwich cookie you like, some flavors may work better than others. I saw “Winter Oreos” in the store and thought they would look really nice because they have red filling – valentine’s day presents?

Now that you know lots of random stuff about Oreos, lets get gooey.

Oreo-Stuffed Red Velvet Crinkles

makes 12

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/8 cup buttermilk (or milk with a teaspoon of vinegar)
1 tsp vanilla
1 Tbsp liquid red food coloring (if you use paste or dust coloring then eyeball it – remember you can always add more!)
1 1/4 cups AP flour
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
12 chocolate sandwich cookies (Oreos, Newman O’s, Jojos…)
1/2 cup powdered sugar for rolling

First beat your butter and sugar until fluffy, and preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Then combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

DSC_0024

 

Add your vanilla, eggs, buttermilk and food coloring and continue to beat.

DSC_0036

 

Slowly add in your dry ingredients a quarter cup at a time, beat until combined. You’ll have a slack cookie dough.

DSC_0041

 

Now, using your hands, form the dough around each sandwich cookie then coat it in the powdered sugar and plop it on a cookie sheet. Give these guys space, at least 2.5 inches between each cookie, I only fit 8 on one sheet.

Tip: If one side of the cookie has more cookie dough on it put that side down on the sheet – the finished cookies have less of an Oreo bump if you do this. 

DSC_0048

 

DSC_0057

 

Bake for 14-15 minutes until the cookies are puffed and cracked on top.

DSC_0063

 

Let them cool completely on a cooling rack.

DSC_0067

 

Cut one in half to see how cool it looks, then chow down with a big glass of milk.

DSC_0069

One thought on “Oreo-Stuffed Red Velvet Crinkles

  1. Yes, Taylor, you did a project in grade school using Oreos, but I don’t remember why. It was a panda bear. The body was made out of two 9-inch round chocolate cakes, but the ears, eyes, etc. were made with Oreos and Junior Mints. These look very yummy.

Leave a Reply

