MY Cornbread

I was watching the food network the day after Thanksgiving and every episode of everything was about leftovers and what to do with them. I, personally, just eat them. Whats wrong with eating dressing and mashed potatoes two, or even three, days in a row? It still tastes amazing (thanks mom).

Anyway, food network viewers were writing and videoing in asking for ideas about how to transform their thanksgiving leftovers into something unique and different. As you all may know by now, I am a carb fan. I am not afraid of carbs and no one should be, but what I saw Sunny Anderson do on the foodnetwork on Black Friday hurt even my carb-loving tummy. Deep fried stuffing balls with cranberry dipping sauce.

20121127-161045.jpg
(No this is not my picture, I would never make this)

So what she does is form the stuffing into balls, then coat them in more bread and then deep fry them. Too much, Sunny! Paula Deen could get away with that maybe, but not you!

A healthier idea that Bobby Flay had for using up leftovers was turkey chili. He even threw in some leftover steamed veggies and it seemed to come together pretty well. I don’t eat meat, so instead I make a pretty mean veggie crock pot chili.

20121127-161639.jpg

It has black beans, pinto beans, bell peppers, chipotles in adobo, onion, sweet potatoes, corn… And it only gets better with cornbread.

I have made gallons upon gallons of veggie chili in the past three years (since I owned a crock pot), and I have tried just as many corn bread recipes. This past summer I finally nailed down my own cornbread recipe. It is made for add ins; jalapenos, cheese, sun dried tomatoes, chives, fresh corn, even honey, whatever you want to add, it can take it!

If you hate shortening, you can try to replace it with something…? But I want to try to convince you to get over it, a little veggie shortening goes a long way in making fluffy, delicious cornbread.

Oh Dear Bakery Cornbread
1 cup flour
1 cup medium to coarse ground cornmeal
3 Tbsp sugar or honey
3 tsp baking powder
1 cup milk (or milk alternative)
1 egg
1/4 cup shortening
1/2 cup whatever add ins you want, I chose pepperjack cheese this time

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees and grease an 8×8 pan.
This is one of those recipes where you just combine your dry ingredients then your wet ingredients…

20121127-162812.jpg

Then stir them all together until incorporated and add in whatever you like, dont worry about having a super smooth batter.

20121127-163005.jpg

Put the batter in your prepared pan and bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown around the edges.

20121127-163217.jpg

20121127-163305.jpg

Dip it in something delicous, eat it by itself, just don’t give it to a kitten…

20121127-163631.jpg

5 thoughts on “MY Cornbread

  1. Taylor, good looking cornbread and cute cats…almost as cute as my rescues, but don’t knock fried stuffing until you try it! Doesn’t matter who delivers the recipe, only who eats it! Thanks for watching! Sunny….

  2. Love my cornbread. I also make biscuits with basically the same ingredients. Try this out…
    1/2 cup corn meal
    1/2 cup flour ( I use whole wheat or a wheat/white mix for lightness)
    1/4-1/2 cup almond meal
    tbls or two of sugar or honey
    a pinch of salt
    a couple pinches of baking soda
    about a teaspoon of baking powder
    about 1/4 cup coconut oil (cut in, leave largish flakes/chunks)
    cardamon 1/2 tsp??? or so
    bit of vanilla extract

    Since I cook general without measuring devices and add ingredients as the whim strikes me, nothing is exact or ever the same. Never-the-less, these are the best biscuits I make…period.

    And…I eat vegan about 5 days a week (often more) so I get the “no meat” thing. Last night I had two homemade tacos: one with traditional beef/burger, and one with artichoke hearts, red bell peppers, onions, and some classic mexican taco seasoning (ie…lots of cumin and chili powder etc.) I preferred the latter. You really have to try using artichoke hearts in lieu of meats. It has the texture, body, and I don’t know what else, that makes, at least for Deb and me, it equal to meats and in many cases better tasting. Just an accidental discovery. Now put a little avocado with it….

  3. And coconut oil seems the perfect alternative, so far it is the better alternative, for shortening or lard. As for shortening…It is hard to get over a heart attack and that stuff is nasty. Coconut oil adds a nice hint of sweetness to just about anything for which it is used. I also use it now for popcorn and it works better than any other oil I have used. Pretty amazing stuff.

    • Coconut oil is expensive, which is a lot of my reasoning for not using it – I did just graduate from college, the money isn’t flowing quite yet :P. I do agree that it is a good altnative most of the time, but it has a distinct flavor that shortening doesn’t. I’ve found that, when substituing, you should use about 25 percent less coconut oil than butter or shortening… I’m sticking to my shortening for a few more years…

Leave a Reply

