Pumpkin Ginger Chocolate Chip Scones

I am totally pumpkining out right now. Official pumpkin baking season ends on Thanksgiving (although I’m sure you’ll see it from me afterward anyway) and I am so sad. So here I sit, at Sweetwaters with a soy pumpkin latte and one of my pumpkin scones with Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter on it (yes, I snuck my own treats into a coffee shop that sells treats, is it cocky of me to say mine are better?).

20121117-144450.jpg

Although I wish these scones were just a bit pumpkinier, they truly do have all of my favorite things in them: chocolate, candied ginger, pumpkin and lots of lovely fall spices. They have a lovely color and would make a perfect Thanksgiving or post-Thanksgiving breakfast.

But quickly, before I get to the recipe, lots of exciting news!
1) This week I supplied 16 loaves of challah to the Selma Cafe in Ann Arbor. The loaves were made into some absolutely delicious torrijas – a spanish version of french toast with spices and honey. The blog post can be found here.

2) I am in the planning stages of a few small catering events in early December and there is a possibility of a weekly Friday night market at the begining of next year! I’ll keep you posted.

3) My stamp came! Thanks to Hoot Owl Press for the beautiful custom stamp.

20121117-145844.jpg

I’ve had so much fun with it already. I obviously need to work on my stamping skills though…

20121117-145932.jpg

I’ll be using it on absolutely everything, and hopefully I’ll become a better stamper over time.
That’s all for news, now on to these little triangles of pumpkiny goodness…

Pumpkin Ginger Chocolate Chip Scones
makes 12 small or 8 large
2 3/4 cups AP flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 Tbsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves
1 1/2 cups combination of chocolate chips and diced crystalized ginger, any ratio you please.
1/2 cup (2 sticks) cold butter
2/3 cup pumpkin puree
2 eggs

Buttermilk, egg or butter for brushing
Turbinado or granulated sugar for topping

First combine all your dry ingredients and sift or “mock sift” them. Mock sifting is exactly what it sounds like, you don’t have to sift! Just whisk everything together instead to get out the bigger lumps and clumps.

20121117-150916.jpg

Now get everything else ready. Whisk together your pumpkin and eggs, cube the cold butter and chop up your ginger.

20121117-151101.jpg

Using your hands, squeeze the butter and flour together until it resembles semi-wet sand. Some larger chunks of butter are fine. Then stir in the chocolate and ginger.

20121117-151344.jpg

Now fold in the pumpkin and egg mixture until just combined and make the dough into a nice ball.

20121117-151538.jpg

Cut the ball in half and form the halves into disks about 3/4″ thick (if you want to make 8 larger scones, keep the dough as one ball and flatten to about 1″). Wrap them in plastic wrap and pop them in the refrigerator for an hour or two – just enough time for me to go to Zumba class ;).

20121117-151739.jpg

Now preheat your oven to 425 degrees. Cut each disk into 6 pieces and put on a parchment or silpat lined baking sheet. Top each triangle with egg, buttermilk or butter, then sprinkle with sugar of your choice.

20121117-152008.jpg

Bake for 22-25 minutes until golden brown around the edges. Enjoy with a big mug of cider or coffee.

20121117-152213.jpg

The kitties really wanted to go to the grocery store with me today…

20121117-152317.jpg

Leave a Reply

