Sweet Potato Fries and Brioche Beginnings

Well I finally got sick this week. It was that I-don’t-want-to-do-anything-make-your-boyfriend-do-everything kind of sick. Stuffy nose, aches, high temperature, coughing… The works. But I did manage to get in the kitchen a bit, of course.

I’m feeling better now, I’ve just got a leftover stuffy nose and a little cough. But I had the energy today to make a gorgeous brioche. How are people not obsessed with this bread? It has all the amazing qualities of challah plus butter. Hellooo?! This bread is awesome. I’m still working on my own recipe for it, but I’ll post once I get it nailed down. Soon! I promise. Here are some pictures of today’s final product:

20121020-140843.jpg

20121020-140959.jpg

20121020-141012.jpg

This week I got some beautiful sweet potatoes at the farmers market. In the past I just roasted them with some olive oil, salt and pepper and they were delicious, but this week I wanted fries. Un-fried fries of course, the “healthy” kind that go in the oven. These fries have plenty of spice and a little cornmeal to keep them crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. Yum.

20121020-141438.jpg

Spicy Sweet Potato Fries
3 large sweet potatoes
2-3 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp corn meal
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp chipotle powder
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
Chop your potatoes into fries. Sweet potatoes can be really oddly shaped, but try your best to make your fries about the same size – 3/8″ to 1/2″ thickness. Put them in a gallon ziplock bag or large tupperware.

20121020-142000.jpg

Put everything else on the ingredients list in the bag, close it and shake to coat.

20121020-142105.jpg

Spread out the fries on a couple of sheet pans – without airflow between them they will not get crispy. Bake 15-20 minutes until crispy. Then eat with desired dipping sauce. Yes, that is ketchup mixed with hot sauce…

20121020-143004.jpg

We had potato night, kind of by accident, because I made this soup as well. In the following picture you can witness Pete trying to take a fry and eat soup at the same time.

20121020-142645.jpg

All those potatoes made the kitties sleepy…

20121020-142800.jpg

One thought on “Sweet Potato Fries and Brioche Beginnings

Leave a Reply

