Cauliflower Crust Pizza (gluten free!)

Oh, belive me, I am no where near gluten free. But we had a surplus of cauliflower and this recipe had intrigued me for a long while. To my gluten free friends: I have no idea how you do it, and I am truly impressed by your restraint, this recipe is for you.

And to my gluten-eating-gluttons: you’ll like this too! I was skeptical, but I really enjoyed it. It might not be the slice you can pick up, fold in half and scarf down on the couch, but it sure is tasty.

Gluten Free Cauliflower Crust Pizza
crust
1 large head of cauliflower, broken down to a rice-like consistency. I used a food processor.
2 eggs
2 cups shredded cheese (I used 1 1/2 cups of mozzerella)
2 tsp dried oregano
3/4 tsp chili flakes
1/2 tsp salt
2 cloves garlic, minced

Toppings: your choice! Sauce, pesto, cheese, fresh veggies, grilled veggies, meat, tofu, pine cones, coffee beans, cough drops… Whatever your heart desires.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Then, microwave your cauliflower “rice” for 4 minutes to soften it up a bit. Wait for it to cool then add the eggs, cheese, and spices. If it isn’t quite a gooy dough after all this, add a little milk or water until it reaches your perfect gooiness level.

20121011-173730.jpg

Now line a baking sheet with parchment or a silpat and press your “dough” into a circle on the baking sheet. My circle was about 11″ in diameter, it is best to have a thin crust so that it actually gets crispy, not just mushy.

20121011-174122.jpg

Bake 15-20 minutes on the top rack of your oven until golden brown. Get your toppings ready!

20121011-174426.jpg

Now turn your oven to broil on high and put your toppings on the crust. I added red sauce, broccoli, peppers, onions, goat cheese and mozzerella. Put the pizza back in the oven on the top rack just until everything is bubbly and a bit brown, this only takes a minute or two so keep an eye on it!

20121011-174729.jpg

Now enjoy your pizza with a little less guilt than usual! And go cuddle with your kitties…

20121011-174928.jpg

One thought on “Cauliflower Crust Pizza (gluten free!)

Leave a Reply

