Chocolate macaron with Spiced Honey Buttercream

First of all, happy last day of Rosh Hashana! I can’t lie, I’m kind of happy the holiday is over just because my hands are SO tired from making round challah. Making regular braided challah again is going to be easy as pie. I am very proud of my round challahs though, I watched many youtube videos to figure it out.

20120918-164420.jpg

20120918-164608.jpg

And although I don’t personally celebrate Rosh Hashanah I tried to get in the spirit this week with some honey buttercream filled chocolate macaron.

I remember the first time I had a french macaron… I was at the laundromat in St. Paul, and I decided to walk across the street to Sweets Bakeshop and reward myself for washing clothes. I got a little yellow lemon macaron and at that moment I swore I would eventually perfect that little delicate pastry.

Well I havent yet. But they still taste darn good! There is definitely something intimidating about macarons, a lot of pastry-sciency-perfection. But really you just have to dive in an be prepared for things to not go completely perfectly. Its also really important to have a scale, a very accurate electronic one is best. Do not trust someone that gives you macaron measurements in cups!

Even if you over beat or under mix or anything else that could happen to macaron batter, they will still taste delicious in the end. Slather buttercream on anything and it will taste delicious.

Chocolate Macaron with Spiced Honey Buttercream
chocolate shells
100 g powdered sugar
50 g almond meal/flour
20 g dutch process cocoa powder, sifted (yes, you actually have to sift it this time!)
60 g egg whites
40 g granulated sugar

First, combine powdered sugar, almond meal/flour and cocoa powder. Make sure all the clumps are gone and it it mixed together thoroughly. Line a baking sheet with parchment.

Then start to beat the egg whites with a stand or hand mixer on a medium high speed. Right when the whites begin to foam slighly, add the granulated sugar and continue on high. You want stiff peaks to form, or as I would say, it should look like shaving cream.

20120918-170311.jpg

Once you’ve got your shaving cream, using a rubber spatula fold the egg whites into the cocoa mixture. You have 40 strokes to do this! When you pull the mixture back with your spatula it should fall back into place within 10 seconds.

Fill a pastry bag fitted with a large round tip and pipe 1″ to 1.5″ circles onto your parchment.

20120918-170854.jpg

20120918-171007.jpg

Now let these sit 30-60 minutes. They should lose a bit of their shine as a crust forms over the top. During this time, preheat your oven to 310 degrees.

Pop them in the oven for 15-20 minutes, opening the oven once or twice along the way to release moisture. Give one a little wiggle with your finger to see if they are done – it should be set but not completely firm, crispy macaron are no fun.

20120918-171708.jpg

Take them out and allow them to cool completely on the sheet (for these little guys it only takes 10 or 15 minutes for that to happen). Then… Add your filling…

spiced honey buttercream
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 Tbsp honey
1/4 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1.5 cups powdered sugar

Using a stand or hand mixer beat together butter, honey and spices until fluffy- about 2 minutes.

Slowly incorporate powdered sugar and beat on high for a minute or two to acheive maximum fluffiness. Look at all the pretty littly spicy specs!

20120918-172155.jpg

Then put this in a pastry bag with whatever kind of tip your heart desires and pipe some honey goodness onto half of your shells.

20120918-172414.jpg

Sandwich them together, take some pretty pictures and enjoy!

20120918-172606.jpg

Wasabi likes to sleep while I work my bum off in the kitchen.

20120918-172805.jpg

One thought on “Chocolate macaron with Spiced Honey Buttercream

  1. I love your story about trying a macaron for the first time 🙂 I had mine first one in Paris with Casey. I had to speak a little “French” to get it, but it was chocolate, it was delicious, and it made me think of you. I’m so impressed you’re mastering them!

Leave a Reply

