Banana bread… Scones?

I’ve been super sluggish lately, and I’m really excited to start working 40-ish hours a week instead of 50-ish, I think that will help a fair amount. I also think starting to workout more will give me some energy, 4 days a week starting next week!

So I have lacked in blogging, but I promised I wouldn’t be so hard on myself about that, so I’m holding off on scolding myself until I really fall off the horse.

Wednesday was farmer’s market day and I got a few things that I don’t normally get. Eggplant, popcorn, sweet potatos…

20120907-100418.jpg

And of course the usual gorgeous peppers that come around this time of year

20120907-100510.jpg

A few days ago I tried making caramel corn for the first time (which is why I bought a 2.5 pound bag of organic kernels from a cute little amish boy). My ratios were way off – I made way too much popcorn and too little caramel. But for my not-so-sweet-toothed boyfriend, Peter, it was perfect. And despite this mistake we finished 8 cups of it in 2 days. I added chocolate and sea salt to half of it (for me), and it was delicious. Once I get the ratios down the recipe will be posted!

20120907-100850.jpg

This week I had a few leftover bananas from work, I took them home but I was really sick of quick breads, muffins and cakes… So I made some scones! They taste very much like banana chocolate chip bread but will a denser, dryer more scone-like texture, it was a nice change.

Banana Chocolate Chip Scones
2 ripe mashed bananas
2-4 Tbsp milk
1/2 cup yogurt
2 1/2 cups AP flour
4 Tbsp sugar
2 tsp baking powder
Pinch of salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Combine bananas, milk and yogurt and set asside

In a bowl use your hands to combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and butter until you get a sandy consistancy.

Add in wet ingredients and mix, then fold in chocolate chips

20120907-101544.jpg

At this point you can do one of two things:
1: if you have a scone pan (like me) you can divide up the batter in the 8 molds, swipe on a wash (egg, milk or butter) and put in a 400 degree oven for 25-30 minutes.
2: pat into a 3/4 thick pie and refrigerate for at least one hour. Then preheat the oven to 400 degrees while you cut the pie into 8 pieces, put on a wash of your choice and place on a greased or lined baking sheet. Then bake 25-30 minutes.

Either way, you’ll end up with some beautiful, delicious scones that taste like banana bread while avoiding that typical banana cake/bread/muffin texture. Not that I don’t love that… I was just a little sick of it.

20120907-102114.jpg

Leave a Reply

