Red Velvet Whoopieee! Pies

I love any excuse to make dessert. Today my boyfriend Pete and I are going over to his brother’s place for a labor day dinner. We planned on spending the day at the beach like we do most Sundays in the summer, but the weather is super gloomy and muggy so we’re sitting outside a coffee shop downtown instead. We spent the morning eating, cleaning and lounging around. Aaaand making whoopie pies!

This was my first time making whoopie pies, and I will be making them many times in the future. I was originally really intimidated by them, now I’m not really sure why I ever was. They’re easy, delicious and take like no time at all.

One thing I should note, mine are ENORMOUS. I really didn’t intend for them to be that way, in the future I’ll use my 1″ ice cream scoop instead of my 1.5″. I guess we’ll just have a giant dessert, which is never bad.

Red Velvet Whoopie Pies with Cream Cheese Filling

2 cups AP flour
2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (I’d like to add more next time)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup buttermilk (I used 1/2 cup skim + 1 tsp vinegar)
Red gel food coloring (start with a small amount and add as you please)

filling
1/4 cup butter, softened
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
2 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla

Oven @ 375 degrees
Combine dry ingredients and set aside.

Cream butter and sugar, add egg and vanilla. Then alternate adding buttermilk and dry ingedients until everything is incorporated. Add gel food coloring until you get to your desired red.

Use a 1″ icecream scoop to scoop and level batter and plop onto a lined baking sheet.

20120902-151246.jpg

20120902-151511.jpg

Bake 7-9 minutes until pies spring back when poked. Take out and cool on pans for 5 minutes before transferring to wire rack.

20120902-151832.jpg

for filling
Cream together butter, cream cheese and vanilla until fluffy (about three minutes on medium speed). Slow down the mixer and add powdered sugar, mix until incorporated.

To assemble, put a heaping spoonful in the middle of one pie and squish another one on top.

20120902-151917.jpg

Keep refrigerated if not eating immediately!

Its kitty time!

20120902-151048.jpg

Leave a Reply

