Undecided Banana Muffins

A few days ago I purchased a couple of bananas. Deep down I knew that, although it would probably be best to eat them, they would turn into banana bread.

I love banana bread, it has the best texture of all the quick breads in the world in my opinion, just because of that extra moisture from the bananas. Plus it is an excuse to basically eat cake for breakfast, which is always wonderful. AND you can put almost anything in it: which is how I arrived at this recipe. I had beautiful blueberries from the farmers market… But I love banana chocolate chip anything. So why the heck not, I threw them together, and it was delicious.

Undecided banana muffins
1/2 cup (one stick) butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 very ripe bananas, mashed
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup blueberries

Oven @ 350 degrees

Grease or line muffin pan (for a dozen muffins) or a loaf pan

Cream butter and sugar together, add eggs, bananas and vanilla, mix until smooth.

Slowly add flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.

Fold in chocolate chips and blueberries.

20120831-211215.jpg

Use a quarter cup ice cream scoop to fill liners, or pour into loaf pan. Bake for 20-22 minutes until golden brown and beautiful. For a loaf you’ll need 55-65 minutes in the oven (I didn’t have enough time for that!).

20120831-211541.jpg

Cool and remove from pan, then devour.

And finally, I leave you with a picture of Wasabi in his new favorite spot:

20120831-211806.jpg

Leave a Reply

