Farmer’s Market Raspberry Coconut Macaroons

Every Wednesday morning I go to the Ann Arbor Farmer’s market in Kerrytown. I stock up on produce eggs etc… To make it through the week. It is also my time to relax because I work late at the Songbird Cafe on Wednesdays. Normally I’ll go early before it gets crowded, get all my produce, pick up a DELICIOUS bakery item from the Cafe Japon table and grab some coffee at a cafe near by. Then I eat, listen to NPR podcasts and knit the morning away, I love Wednesday mornings, especially when vendors do things like this:

20120823-103355.jpg

When I saw this the vendor said, “when they grow a nose I have to put a face on them!” I thought it was so adorable, I had to take a picture.

Later, when I got home and unloaded the goods, I realized I had created a color pallet with my fruits and veggies, lots of reds and oranges:

20120823-103716.jpg

The raspberries are beautiful and dark red, I couldn’t resist, but I needed something to make with them. So I went over to Smitten Kitchen and found this recipe: http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2012/03/raspberry-coconut-macaroons/ . But I made a couple adjustments by 1) cutting the recipe in half.

20120823-104119.jpg

2) not putting ALL the coconut in the food processor, I guess I like my macaroons with a little more texture. And 3) drizzling white chocolate on top – because white chocolate and raspberry is the best combo.

20120823-104355.jpg

To smooth out the white chocolate drizzle I used 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips and 1 teaspoon vegetable shortening, just melted in the microwave for 30 seconds and stirred up. This would also be really tasty with milk or dark chocolate.

And finally, I will leave you with a super cute picture of my sleepy kittens.

20120823-104718.jpg

2 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market Raspberry Coconut Macaroons

Leave a Reply

