Hello and Challah

I love food blogs. But I never thought I could write one. To be honest, I’m not the best writer, even with my IB english classes and liberal art degree – I guess I never really got it. I would much rather write in bullet points for the rest of my life.

But here I am, starting a food blog. I’ve had other blogs in the past, but none of them have really stuck. Now, with two baking jobs, some barista-ing and cooking at home, food has truly become my life. I need a way to document and share my work – and I also need a little kick in the pants.

My greatest challenges will be: staying committed, taking pictures not only on instagram, and not getting discouraged by other people’s AMAZING blogs with hundred of recipes and pretty layouts. I will take this one post at a time and be proud of it!

Now on to food. I am the assistant pastry chef at the U of Michigan’s kosher kitchen in the Hillel Center. I am not jewish, but grew up in a very jewish neighborhood in Minnisota and therefore I know a lot about the culture, the holidays and the rules concerning keeping kosher. I bake a lot of dairy free products there, and a lot of breads (Challah). I also work at the Songbird Cafe in north ann arbor where I bake more basic items like scones, muffins and cookies.

Today at Hillel I made chocolate crinkle cookies, baguettes, wheat rolls and of course challah.

20120821-154834.jpg

Challah is an eggy braided bread used for blessings and holidays in the jewish faith. It is absolutely delicious. I got my recipe from my boyfriend’s mother, it is from her Jewish Family Cookbook. I’ll have to make 50 loaves and 50 rolls of it for next Friday… I’m pretty nervous, but so excited as well! Hopefully I can get a picture of all of them.

One thought on “Hello and Challah

Leave a Reply

